Bendigo Bank Mortlock Shield 2019

The Bendigo Bank Mortlock Shield wrapped up on Monday with Great Flinders winning their first Mortlock Shield in five years.ADVERTISING

In the opening match of the day Lincoln City ended their carnival on a high note after defeating Far West 10.6 (66) to 4.9 (33).

Lincoln Districts gave themselves a chance of winning the shield after defeating Mid West in the following match 9.5 (59) to 6.10 (46).

Finally, Great Flinders sealed their place as Mortlock Shield champions for 2019 after securing a hard fought win against Eastern Eyre 7.10 (52) to 6.6 (42).

RELATED: Bendigo Bank Mortlock Shield 2019 | June 8 | GALLERY

Great Flinders midfielder Xavier Watson shared Bampton Medal honours for carnival best and fairest with Lincoln Districts’ Lindsay Thomas, who also finished as leading goal kicker with his 10 goals.

Eastern Eyre’s Aisea Raikiwasa received the Wes Crosby Medal for runner up best and fairest and Mid West’s Ian Jericho was named Don McSweeny Medallist for best under 21 player.


Bampton Medal (carnival best and fairest): Xavier Watson (Great Flinders), Lindsay Thomas (Lincoln Districts)

Wes Crosby Medal (runner up best and fairest): Aisea Raikiwasa (Eastern Eyre)

Laurie Martin Trophy (leading goal kicker): Lindsay Thomas (Lincoln Districts) – 10

Don McSweeny Medal (best under 21): Ian Jericho (Mid West)

Umpire of the Carnival: Paul ‘Sammy’ Newman

Team of the Carnival

B: Paul White (Lincoln City), Joe Walker (Great Flinders), Aisea Raikiwasa (Eastern Eyre)

HB: Darryl Dudley (Far West), Jaxen Norton (Great Flinders), Aseri Raikiwasa (Eastern Eyre)

C: Brayden Martin (Great Flinders), Xavier Watson (Great Flinders), Casey Amos (Lincoln Districts)

HF: Jordan Hind (Great Flinders), Mitchell Gum (Mid West), Jacob Collins (Lincoln City)

F: Matthew Crettenden (Great Flinders), Lindsay Thomas (Lincoln Districts), Jesse Chandler (Far West)

R1: Levi Kontizka (Great Flinders), Jack Kenny (Eastern Eyre), Jesse Stringer (Mid West)

Int: Dylan Kelsh (Mid West), Mitchell Lawrie (Great Flinders), Ryley Maitland (Eastern Eyre), Shaun Maxfield (Lincoln City), Jake Bruce (Eastern Eyre), Ian Jericho (Mid West), Mitchell Hall (Lincoln Districts)

Coach: Michael Curtis (Great Flinders)

Eyre Peninsula squad

Far West: Jaxon Bennett,Jesse Chandler, David Wright, Jarden Stoetzer.

Lincoln City: Jacob Collins, Brodie Drewitt, Brent Harris, Shaun Maxfield, Ben Sampson, Ben Shillabeer, Lenard Wells.

Mid West: Jack Burton, Mitchell Gum, Ian Jericho, Dylan Kelsh, Jess Kenny, Jake McEvoy, Jonty Seal.

Lincoln Districts: Casey Amos, Kingsley Bilney Jnr, Billy Byass, Mitchell Hall, Tynan Keeley, Kingsley Ware.

Eastern Eyre: Jake Bruce, Ben Clements, Joel Fitzgerald, Jack Kenny, Ryley Maitland, Sid Masters, Dion Woolford.

Great Flinders: Casey Carr, Matthew Crettenden, Stephen Crettenden, Jordan Hind, Levi Konitzka, Mitchell Lawrie, Brayden Martin, Jackson Murphy, Jaxen Norton, Joe Walker, Xavier Watson.

Comments are closed.
PHP Code Snippets Powered By :